Clean Technology Canada

Oneida, EVLO, Elexicon, Minister Smith recognized by Energy Storage Canada

November 2, 2023
By Anthony Capkun

Presented by:
EB Mag

November 2, 2023 – Energy Storage Canada recognized energy storage industry leaders and innovators as part of its second annual awards program, carried out during the association’s recent annual conference.

Representatives from the Oneida Storage LP project, recipient of the 2023 Milestone in Energy Storage award. Holding award are (left) Michelle Chislett, executive vice-president, Onshore Renewables, Northland Power, and (right) Annette Verschuren, chair & CEO, NRStor Inc. Source: CNW Group/Energy Storage Canada.

Oneida Storage LP received the 2023 Energy Storage Milestone award in recognition of its success in forging an equitable partnership for the largest project of its kind in Canada (above).

EVLO Energy Storage (below) received the 2023 Landmark Application of Energy Storage award for its Parent Project, which demonstrates the role energy storage can play as a part of the distribution grid, serving as a viable non-wires-alternative (NWA).

“[The Parent project] stands as a pioneering example of an innovative energy storage application that benefits the community it serves while contributing to the advancement of the energy storage sector,” said Sonia St-Arnaud, president & CEO, EVLO. “It’s an honour to see the team receive recognition from Energy Storage Canada for their tremendous work on this landmark project.”

Representatives from EVLO, recipient of the 2023 Landmark Application of Energy Storage award. Third from right: Sonia St-Arnaud, president & CEO. Source: CNW Group/Energy Storage Canada.

Ontario’s Minister of Energy, Hon. Todd Smith, was presented with the 2023 Friend of Energy Storage award, which celebrates an individual who has demonstrated their support for energy storage and its integration into Canada’s grid (below).

“Energy Storage Canada’s board of directors was unanimous in selecting Minister Smith as the inaugural recipient for the Friend of Energy Storage award,” said Brad Kyte, board chair. “His leadership in launching one of the largest energy storage procurements in North America has put the Canadian energy storage sector on the map.”

From left: Energy Storage Canada board chair, Brad Kyte, and Hon. Todd Smith, Ontario’s Minister of Energy, recipient of the 2023 Friend of Energy Storage award. Source: CNW Group/Energy Storage Canada.

Elexicon Energy received the 2023 Champion of Diversity Equity & Inclusion in Energy Storage award for its passion and commitment, confirmed by concrete progress metrics and setting of future goals.

Two individuals were also recognized:

John Wright, executive director, Business Development, Northland Power, received the 2023 Pioneer in Energy Storage award for his guidance of Energy Storage Canada, and contributions to its federal policy and advocacy in the organization’s early years.

Robin Clarke, manager, Power Markets and Strategy, Capstone Infrastructure, was recognized in abstentia as the 2023 Future Energy Storage Leader for his demonstration of leadership in cross-technical projects, leveraging his technical expertise to build consensus with disparate groups to further the development of energy storage.

“It’s our pleasure to recognize all six of this year’s award recipients,” said Justin Rangooni, executive director, Energy Storage Canada. “They exemplify the growth of energy storage across Canada. Their contributions have played a crucial role in establishing the foundations upon which the industry will continue to thrive.”

With approx. 100 members, Energy Storage Canada is a not-for-profit national trade association dedicated to the growth and market development of energy storage.

Print this page


Stories continue below